fso logo
fso
prepare right
right mast FSO Forum About Us
Testimonials
Just want to tell you I passed the LMFT exam with 85 the first time. It wasn't my area - I'm an LMHC but your course was what did it. Thanks so much. Shelly F., LMFT
11/01/2010
Shelly F., LMFT
 
Sign In. Sign Up.
 
 
TESTIMONIALS
Family Solutions has been helping thousands of MFT's become LMFT's since 1992, the year of the AMFTRB licensing exams' inception. Family Solutions offers real support designed to augment your previous training into a personalized approach to pass the exam. We work with you, tailoring our resources and support to what you actually need to pass the exam. Here is a small sampling of the ongoing feedback we receive on a regular basis.



From:
Christine L., LMFT, Arizona 06/24/2017

I passsed the exam on 4/21/17.
Thank you.

Christine L., LMFT

From:
Virginia C., LMFT, Colorado 06/17/2017

I passed!!!

Thanks, Rob

Virginia C., LMFT

From:
Vicky W., LMFT , Hawaii 06/11/2017

Hi Rob,

Thank you for your guidance, and answering my multiple questions from Hawaii. I'm happy to say I passed the national MFT exam on my first attempt! Your resources and guidance were extremely helpful (DVD, CD's, green book. practice exams) in trying to find my way through the exhaustive amount of information to retain. I also enjoyed the mini courses in Crisis Management, HIPAA, and Outcome Research.

When I steered off course and started using a California based national website that caused me to spiral downward due to repetitive failed practice exams, your advice in focusing back on Family Solutions' materials, the major theories, DSM-5, ethics, statistics, and HIPAA proved invaluable. And then I went back to FSI's practice exams, and got my confidence back by scoring in the high 90's, which eventually lead to a passing MFT exam grade.

Vicky W., LMFT


From:
Stephanie B., LMFT, Texas 05/24/2017

Hi All,

I wasn't sure immediately how to leave feedback but wanted to thank you all for the program you've put together. I passed my exam on the first attempt with a 176, passing starting at 144. The study guide, practice tests and other resources in the eStudy program were the perfect choice for me and the 90 days I had to study. I'm waiting on the Texas Board to get back in touch with me, but it's all smooth sailing from here thanks to your program!

Thank you,
Stephanie B., LMFT


From:
Mary B., LMFT, Nevada 04/03/2017


I passed the test the first time around - yay! I am now licensed in California (30 years +) and now in Nevada!

Thanks for all the great testing material. I have recommended your company to others.

Best,


Mary B., LMFT


From:
Gissele A., LMFT, Connecticut 04/02/2017

Hi Rob. Happy to share that I passed the exam! Thank you for the material and support.

Gisselle A., LMFT


From:
Louisa P. and Kermit C., LMFTs, New Mexico 04/01/2017

Dear Rob,
Guess what??
I passed and Kermit did too.!
Hooray!
Thank you for your help in that coming to pass.
We are enormously relieved.
respectfully and with deep gratitude
Louisa P. and Kermit C., LMFTs


From:
Brana R., LMFT, New York 03/29/2017

Hello Rob!!! Congratulations!!! I passed my MFT exam!!!! Thanks for all your help!!!

All the best,
Brana R., LMFT


From:
Jamie H., LMFT, Indiana 02/16/2017

Hi Rob & FSI staff!

Guess what?! I passed my exam! I scored 165 and passing was 141. I have been out of school for over 10 years and I was nervous to sit for the exam. I found your website and was really impressed and ended up buying the Intensive Track that came with the green book, dvd workshop, audio cds, online practice exams, plus more! I took the pre-test and scored 48%. I couldn't believe how much I didn't know after being in the field for a decade. I loved having all of the resources because when I couldn't focus on the book, I'd switch to the cds, dvds, or review terms in the glossary that came with the package. About 3 months before the exam I started taking the online practice exams. I tried to take one each weekend and I saw my scores keep going up and up until I was steadily over 80%. After taking the exam I think the most valuable part of studying for me was the practice exams. When I sat for the exam it felt to me like I was just taking another practice exam because I was so used to the format. For anyone who doesn't know where to start with passing this exam I HIGHLY recommend buying this program and putting in the effort. It will pay off! Thank you SO MUCH!! I'm very appreciative of your materials and all you do for the MFT community.

Sincerely,
Jamie H., LMFT


From:
Abigail F., LMFT, North Carolina 01/17/2017

Hi Rob,

I passed and I am so so so thankful for this preparation program and community! I graduated 4 years ago and in those 4 years have lived in 3 different states, unfortunately putting the exam off. I finally took the exam this past December and received my results in exactly 4 weeks. I was scheduled to take the exam in September but did not feel prepared so I paid to reschedule it, and am so glad that I did.

I understand that each exam has the potential to be different but one area I felt underprepared for was Diagnosis.

I am a very slow test taker and actually ran the clock down to 2 minutes with 10ish questions unanswered. When I realized this I went ahead and selected answers very quickly for each remaining one. I definitely wouldn't recommend loosing track of time though, as it increased my post-test anxiety.

WHAT HELPED ME:

Reading through the entire Study Guide, underlining key concepts and taking notes.
Listening to the audio CDs continually and even reciting back some of the concepts.
Going through the DVDs one time thoroughly, while taking notes and then a second time while overlooking notes.
Going through the MFT online workbook and visiting all the additional links provided.
Taking these quizzes and practice exams twice to get in the test mode.
Reading through the discussion forums.
Identifying when I am at my best cognitively and scheduling the exam for that time of day (early morning for me).
Not being afraid to reschedule the exam when I realized I wasn't ready in September.
Every test center may be different but we weren't able to take food or water in with us so I would prepare to eat healthy and start hydrating two days early so that you are at your best the day of the exam.
THANK YOU ROB, FSI Team, and all who shared personal preparation tips!!

Abigail F., LMFT

From:
Capri G., LMFT, South Carolina 01/17/2017

Rob!
You and your team did it again! I passed the MFT National exam. I previously took the test and was not able to understand the components well enough to apply the different theories. I listened to the CD's, took practice exams, and allowed the study book to guide me. I made up families and applied the techniques discussed. I am so happy, I have no other words.


Capri G., LMFT


From:
Julie M., LMFT, North Dakota 12/07/2016

Thanks Rob- I passed the exam on first try thanks to your material!

Julie M., LMFT

From:
Melissa O., LMFT, Washington 11/29/2016

I passed the test (using only the eStudy Program)!

thanks,

Melissa O., Washington

From:
Linda R. M., LMFT, Texas 11/07/2016

Good Morning Rob

I have good news…I passed the MFT exam in Texas and am now an LMFT Associate!

Thank you for your excellent materials.

Best regards,

Linda R. M., LMFT

From:
Nevolia O., LMFT, New Jersey 10/19/2016

Hi Rob,
I hope that you are doing well. You and I had a couple of helpful phone conversations earlier before I took the exam. I appreciate your patience, attention and encouragement. Please feel free to post my comments below on the blog. I no longer have access to my login and password. You will notice that I shared my emotional and psychological approach to preparing for and taking the exam in addition to my study strategies. I hope others will find it helpful.



I passed!!! Please note that I am 70 years old, have a bit of ADHD and I passed the MFT exam with a great score on my first try. Here's how I did it:


1. Being aware of my learning style, I hired a tutor. As an extrovert, TALKING is essential to insure retention. My tutor, Selma, also passed the Exam on her first try. She was a great MOTIVATOR and very KNOWLEDGEABLE.


2. After reading each chapter in the FSI Study Guide, I reviewed what I learned with my husband daily (and with any one else who was interested and willing to listen.)


3. I also drew lots and lots of pictures on LARGE newsprint post-it notes, which I plastered all around the house, giving me multiple opportunities to visualize and review. Using Case Conceptualization in Family Therapy by Michael D. Reiter, I read about the Mosley family from the perspective of each of the theoretical approaches and drew representative pictures and diagrams on newsprint post-its for each theory.


4. I LOVED the FSI flash cards, which I found very motivating as I was reminded of what I DID KNOW so that I could focus on the more illusive concepts. Both the 100 and 200 question FSI practice exams as well as the Ethics and HIPAA practice exams served a similar purpose; they helped me to delineate material that I knew well from that which I needed to give more attention. Consequently I was able to apportion my study time more strategically. Of course the FSI Study Guide, DVD's and CD's were my constant companions.


5. As a Buddhist, I used chanting to ward off feelings of doubt and anxiety and the occasional comments from friends about how one's ability to learn diminishes with age (Ba humbug!). I continually envisioned my self passing the exam and jumping for joy. Finally, Amy Cuddy's Ted Talk on body language encouraged me to use the "victory pose" for additional energy and confidence when I took the exam.


Warm regards,
Nevolia O., LMFT