fso logo
fso
prepare right
right mast FSO Forum About Us
Testimonials
Rob - I just learned I passed the National MFT Exam with a 157 (minimum to pass was 133) on my first attempt. I attribute this largely to the FSI workshop and study materials--definitely worth my investment of time and money. I attended an FSI worksh...
11/07/2010
Kris C., LMFT
 
Sign In. Sign Up.
 
 
TESTIMONIALS
Family Solutions has been helping thousands of MFT's become LMFT's since 1992, the year of the AMFTRB licensing exams' inception. Family Solutions offers real support designed to augment your previous training into a personalized approach to pass the exam. We work with you, tailoring our resources and support to what you actually need to pass the exam. Here is a small sampling of the ongoing feedback we receive on a regular basis.



From:
Capri G., LMFT, South Carolina 01/17/2017

Rob!
You and your team did it again! I passed the MFT National exam. I previously took the test and was not able to understand the components well enough to apply the different theories. I listened to the CD's, took practice exams, and allowed the study book to guide me. I made up families and applied the techniques discussed. I am so happy, I have no other words.


Capri G., LMFT


From:
Abigail F., LMFT, North Carolina 01/17/2017

Hi Rob,

I passed and I am so so so thankful for this preparation program and community! I graduated 4 years ago and in those 4 years have lived in 3 different states, unfortunately putting the exam off. I finally took the exam this past December and received my results in exactly 4 weeks. I was scheduled to take the exam in September but did not feel prepared so I paid to reschedule it, and am so glad that I did.

I understand that each exam has the potential to be different but one area I felt underprepared for was Diagnosis.

I am a very slow test taker and actually ran the clock down to 2 minutes with 10ish questions unanswered. When I realized this I went ahead and selected answers very quickly for each remaining one. I definitely wouldn't recommend loosing track of time though, as it increased my post-test anxiety.

WHAT HELPED ME:

Reading through the entire Study Guide, underlining key concepts and taking notes.
Listening to the audio CDs continually and even reciting back some of the concepts.
Going through the DVDs one time thoroughly, while taking notes and then a second time while overlooking notes.
Going through the MFT online workbook and visiting all the additional links provided.
Taking these quizzes and practice exams twice to get in the test mode.
Reading through the discussion forums.
Identifying when I am at my best cognitively and scheduling the exam for that time of day (early morning for me).
Not being afraid to reschedule the exam when I realized I wasn't ready in September.
Every test center may be different but we weren't able to take food or water in with us so I would prepare to eat healthy and start hydrating two days early so that you are at your best the day of the exam.
THANK YOU ROB, FSI Team, and all who shared personal preparation tips!!

Abigail F., LMFT

From:
Julie M., LMFT, North Dakota 12/07/2016

Thanks Rob- I passed the exam on first try thanks to your material!

Julie M., LMFT

From:
Melissa O., LMFT, Washington 11/29/2016

I passed the test (using only the eStudy Program)!

thanks,

Melissa O., Washington

From:
Linda R. M., LMFT, Texas 11/07/2016

Good Morning Rob

I have good news…I passed the MFT exam in Texas and am now an LMFT Associate!

Thank you for your excellent materials.

Best regards,

Linda R. M., LMFT

From:
Nevolia O., LMFT, New Jersey 10/19/2016

Hi Rob,
I hope that you are doing well. You and I had a couple of helpful phone conversations earlier before I took the exam. I appreciate your patience, attention and encouragement. Please feel free to post my comments below on the blog. I no longer have access to my login and password. You will notice that I shared my emotional and psychological approach to preparing for and taking the exam in addition to my study strategies. I hope others will find it helpful.



I passed!!! Please note that I am 70 years old, have a bit of ADHD and I passed the MFT exam with a great score on my first try. Here's how I did it:


1. Being aware of my learning style, I hired a tutor. As an extrovert, TALKING is essential to insure retention. My tutor, Selma, also passed the Exam on her first try. She was a great MOTIVATOR and very KNOWLEDGEABLE.


2. After reading each chapter in the FSI Study Guide, I reviewed what I learned with my husband daily (and with any one else who was interested and willing to listen.)


3. I also drew lots and lots of pictures on LARGE newsprint post-it notes, which I plastered all around the house, giving me multiple opportunities to visualize and review. Using Case Conceptualization in Family Therapy by Michael D. Reiter, I read about the Mosley family from the perspective of each of the theoretical approaches and drew representative pictures and diagrams on newsprint post-its for each theory.


4. I LOVED the FSI flash cards, which I found very motivating as I was reminded of what I DID KNOW so that I could focus on the more illusive concepts. Both the 100 and 200 question FSI practice exams as well as the Ethics and HIPAA practice exams served a similar purpose; they helped me to delineate material that I knew well from that which I needed to give more attention. Consequently I was able to apportion my study time more strategically. Of course the FSI Study Guide, DVD's and CD's were my constant companions.


5. As a Buddhist, I used chanting to ward off feelings of doubt and anxiety and the occasional comments from friends about how one's ability to learn diminishes with age (Ba humbug!). I continually envisioned my self passing the exam and jumping for joy. Finally, Amy Cuddy's Ted Talk on body language encouraged me to use the "victory pose" for additional energy and confidence when I took the exam.


Warm regards,
Nevolia O., LMFT


From:
Zach P., LMFT, California 10/08/2016

HI Rob,
I am happy to report that I passed the MFT exam with a score of 159! Thank you for creating this study guide, it was truly a huge help and really expanded my knowledge of the MFT field.

Warm regards,


Zach P., LMFT


From:
Taryn P., LMFT, Tennessee 10/08/2016

I just want to say a quick thank you! I received my letter today, and I passed the exam by a wide margin! Aside from the practice tests, the Virtual Workshop was particularly helpful to me. Thanks again for the work you do!

Taryn P., LMFT

From:
Helen, B. LMFT, Hawaii 09/20/2016

Hi Rob,
I took exam recently (first time) and passed. My license came in yesterday.
The exam seemed to be weighted toward domestic violence.

Thanks again for your patience and perseverance.

Helen B., LMFT


From:
Melissa C., LMFT, Florida 09/11/2016

Rob and Family Solutions were incredibly helpful! Since my degree is in Mental Health Counseling, I had minimal training on systems theory. However, after several months of studying and diligently moving through the study material I passed with a 166! I know I could not have passed without Rob and FSO's study materials.

Melissa C., LMFT


From:
Marielisa S., LMFT, Florida 09/11/2016

CONGRATS TO ALL THAT PASSED!!!! I PASSED TOO!!! 156! Thank you for saying your results arrived, I wouldve never checked the mail on a Sunday! So relieved :) A big THANK YOU to FSO!

Marielisa S., LMFT

From:
Amanda N., LMFT, Georgia 09/09/2016

Hi Rob,

I am just emailing you to let you know that I passed the exam!! Thank you you so much for working with me and helping me get everything situated with the practice tests and eStudy material. It was all so very helpful, your study guide is God sent. Thank you so so so much for that material, I am forever grateful.

Best,
Amanda N., LMFT


From:
Deonca R., LMFT, South Carolina 09/09/2016

I Thank God!!!!! I passed and can't believe it!!!!! I received a 147. Thanks Rob for all your help!!!!

Deonca R., LMFT



From:
Judith L., LMFT, Pennsylvania 09/09/2016

Dear Rob,

I just wanted to let you know that I passed the exam . Thank you for a great program!

Judith L., LMFT


From:
Shraga S., LMFT, Pennsylvania 09/08/2016

I passed. Thank you.
Shraga S., LMFT